Mistletoe Madness 2015: Samantha Kane



Thank you for stopping by That’s What I’m Talking About for today’s Mistletoe Madness spot. This year’s event is hosted by Blogging by Liza, Books Make Me Happy, and That’s What I’m Talking About. It’s is a two week event where authors with 2015 winter releases (November 2015 — January 2016) will take over our blogs with guest posts written from one of their character’s POV with a holiday theme (Christmas, Hanukkah, Festivus, New Years, etc.). For a line up of all of the authors featured at all three blogs, please click on the image above or go to the kickoff post from December 1, 2015.

Today’s Mistletoe Madness author is…

Samantha Kane

Book: Calling the Play
Release Date: December 1, 2015
Series: Birmingham Rebels #2

New Year’s Resolutions from Randi, Tyler, and Brian

Randi wrote her first resolution on the little piece of paper in front of her.

  1. Stop swearing.

“Sh*t,” she grumbled as a big ink stain smeared the paper. “My pen broke. Brian! Do you have a pen? Damn it. I already broke this resolution. F**k it.” She grabbed the pen Ty held and crossed the resolution off.

  1. Stop swearing.

She tried again.

  1. Lose weight.

“Oh hell no.” Ty grabbed the pen back and crossed out her new number one.

  1. Lose weight.

“I like you just the way you are,” he said, squeezing her ass cheek, at least the part he could reach that hung off the barstool. “Don’t even think about losing any of this.”

Randi sighed. She stared at the paper, thinking hard. She couldn’t come up with a damn thing.

“Now what the f**k am I going to write?” she complained. “This was your idea. What did you write?”

“I meant for you to put stuff like be more agreeable at work,” Ty told her patiently.

“I’m agreeable,” Randi said, instantly on the defensive.

“How’s that cop you hit last week?” he asked.

“He failed to identify himself as a fellow officer of the law,” she said through clenched teeth. “And he was in my territory. I was cleared of all charges.”

“Mm hmm,” Ty said, clearly unconvinced.

“How about be more patient with Ty’s mom?” Brian asked, walking across the kitchen to lean over the counter. He slid her list around to look at it. He shook his head with a sad expression.

“Now that she’s moved to Birmingham she wants to mother me,” Randi said, making a face. “What am I supposed to do with that? As you know, my mom could give a sh*t.” Brian wrote something on her paper and turned it toward her. “Learn how to be loved,” she read. She sighed impatiently. “I’m trying.”

“I know.” Brian patted her hand. “What about your list?” he asked Ty.

Randi pulled over the paper in front of Ty. It had one entry. “Don’t let negative press get to me.” she read. “Oh, baby. Are they giving you a hard time over this season?”

Ty shook his head. “Nope.” He pointed at her and then at Brian. “About you two.”

Randi frowned. “Are they bothering you, too?” she asked Brian.

“No. Why should they?” He shrugged. “I don’t know those people. I could care less what they think.”

“Okay, Mr. Perfect,” Ty said, flipping his list over. “What did you put down for your New Year’s Resolutions?”

Brian dug a piece of paper out of his pocket and unfolded it. He handed it to Randi.

“Love Randi more,” she read. She had to clear her throat when she got choked up. “Make Ty beg for it more often.” She blinked. “Well, I can get on board that train.”

“That’s it?” Ty asked incredulously. “Those are your New Year’s resolutions?”

“Yep,” Brian said. “All I need to be happy is you two.” He took back the paper and folded it up before slipping it back into his pocket. “I’m going to carry it around everyday this coming year so I remember to do them.”

Randi hopped down from her barstool and grabbed Ty’s hand, dragging him toward the hallway back to the bedroom. “No time like the present to start on those resolutions,” she said cheerfully. “By the way, I’m adopting Brian’s list. Making my own wasn’t working out.”

“You’re going to love yourself more?” Ty asked, laughter in his voice. “About time.”

“Be careful, or I’ll make you watch me love myself and you’ll have to beg.”

“I thought that was everyone’s resolution,” Ty said. “Please, please, please, can I watch?”

Brian slid past him and grabbed Randi, throwing her over his shoulder. “Happy New Year,” he said, biting her playfully on the thigh.

Randi wasn’t sure who he was talking to and right then she didn’t care. It was going to be a happy year. A great year.

About the Book:

Calling the Play_KaneSamantha Kane’s Birmingham Rebels series—perfect for fans of Shayla Black and Lexi Blake—proves that three’s never a crowd . . . at least not for the hard-bodied football all-stars who give teamwork a sexy twist.

Quarterback Tyler Oakes plays hard and parties even harder. That reckless lifestyle nearly derailed his career, and now the Birmingham Rebels are Ty’s last shot at football immortality. But staying out of trouble can take its toll—especially for a man with a taste for girls and guys. Because curvy, gorgeous Randi McInish is just the kind of trouble he’d like to get into.

A tough-as-nails undercover cop, Randi meets her match in Ty. After they get wrapped up together in a drug bust and a high-speed car chase, Randi’s eager to take the notorious bad boy for another wild ride. Turns out Ty already has something in mind. When he introduces her to the Rebels’ sexy new quarterback coach, things start heating up a little too fast for Randi.

Brian Mason coached Ty in college, and boy do they have history together. With Brian taking control on the field and in the bedroom, they were an unstoppable team. But Brian, blindsided by love, ran from his feelings for Ty. He won’t let Randi make the same mistake. Both men agree they need more than each other. They want a woman they can share. And when they make a pleasure play for Randi, all three are sure to score.

Advance praise for Calling the Play

“Fast-paced, fun, and fiercely hot! With her Birmingham Rebels series, Samantha Kane deftly blends football and sensual fantasy, and I can’t wait to read more!”New York Times bestselling author Virna DePaul

“Samantha Kane’s Birmingham Rebels series continues to deliver steamy, heart-pounding reads with Calling the Play, a devilishly delicious book that scores both on and off the field!”—Sarah Robinson, bestselling author of Breaking a Legend

“Kane’s second Birmingham Rebels contemporary sizzles. . . . Scrappy Randi charms with her take-no-prisoners attitude, and Ty and Brian are appealingly imperfect.”Publishers Weekly

Now, head over the BOOKS MAKE ME HAPPY to see today’s feature with Eric R Asher and BLOGGING BY LIZA to see today’s feature with Tigris Eden.

  • I never make any, I break them the same day anyway

  • ButtonsMom2003

    I don’t make resolutions because I never keep them. I love the short story about Randi, Brian and Ty!

    • Isn’t the short great? It’s fun to see characters after the story ends!

Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes