logo
Jan
13

Review: Undertow by SM Stelmack

Review: Undertow by SM Stelmack Undertow Author: S.M. Stelmack  Reviewer: VampBard Rating: B+ What I’m Talking About: Creepmeister things living in tunnels underground?!?! Um. This book needs to come with some sort of ‘Stephen King inspired me’ warning. Naturally, I’m a fan of all things pre-1992 King. Stelmack completely nailed the ambiance of the underground and put her reader smack-dab in the middle of all sorts of crazy! What I really liked about Undertow was the underlying theme of ‘love can conquer all’. I liked everything about the whole development of the relationship between Lindsay and Jack. Even though the ‘I’ve loved you forever’ trope is often used, Stelmack brings a fresh twist that...
Read More
Jan
7

Review: Broken Blade by JC Daniels

Review: Broken Blade by JC Daniels Broken Blade Author: J.C. Daniels Reviewer: Jen Twimom Rating: A- What I’m Talking About: Warning: Spoilers from previous books in the Colbana Files series. Broken Blade is the long-awaited and much anticipated follow-up title to Night Blade by JC Daniels. I HIGHLY recommend that anyone new to this series start with the first book and read the second book before picking up Broken Blade, the third title in the series. Broken Blade opens approximately four months after the conclusion of Night Blade. Our heroine, Kit Colbana, is broken and has been reduced to hiding in a closet. She works at her friend TJ’s bar, while barely existing from moment...
Read More
Dec
31

Review: Off the Edge by Carolyn Crane

Review: Off the Edge by Carolyn Crane Off the Edge Author: Carolyn Crane Reviewer: Jen Twimom Rating: A What I’m Talking About: Laney, a sexy American nightclub singer, has been successfully hiding out in Bangkok for the past two years. She helped the FBI put away her abusive, monstrous ex, Rolly. Staying under the protection of some of Bangkok’s underworld figures, the Shinsurin brothers and their sister, Rajini, Laney has managed to keep isolated and safe. Macmillan (aka Dr. Peter Maxwell) is a linguistics expert who works for the Agency, an independent and underground “world police force.” By listening to crowds and individuals, he is able to pull out who the bad guy is based on...
Read More
Dec
27

Review: When Love Intrudes by Christi Snow

Review: When Love Intrudes by Christi Snow When Love Intrudes Author: Christi Snow Reviewer: B. Rating: B+ What I’m Talking About: After being forced to shoot her boyfriend, only to be tossed aside by the detective whose life she’d saved, Toni Vincent is beginning to think that giving up on dating entirely would be a pretty good idea. Chocolate helps, but all the exercise required in order to avoid the guilt from eating it doesn’t seem worth the frustration. Forgetting the man who broke her heart once and for all would definitely be the best plan, but when her young neighbor is injured in a violent attack, another chance with the handsome detective may be more than...
Read More
Dec
19

Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews

Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews Clean Sweep Author: Ilona Andrews  Reviewer: Una Rating: A What I’m Talking About: The writing team know as Ilona Andrews decided to give their fans (and blog followers) a treat: they released a serial story on their website.  The story started with a girl and her broom and went from there.  Well, the genius that is Ilona Andrews took “a girl and her broom” and turned it into Clean Sweep, a delightful and fascinating tale of a girl, her broom, and a world we could only hope to dream of.  What took place over months, a chapter a week release, is now available as a full e-book.  I did...
Read More
Dec
14

Review: Dark Craving by Veronica Wolff

Review: Dark Craving by Veronica Wolff Dark Craving Author: Veronica Wolff Reviewer: Gikany and Una Rating: B+ What We’re Talking About: Gikany and Una are still recovering from finishing Dark Craving, the latest in the Watchers series.  Wow!  Since it is a novella, we were curious as to why it was given a full number in the series progression instead of the usual .5 – denoting it as a filler or extra between two novels.  Well, though it is novella length, Dark Craving packs the punch of a full novel with an ending that continues to blow our minds. The Watchers series follows Drew, the main character and only point of view to date, as...
Read More
Nov
19

Review: Darkness Awakened by Katie Reus

Review: Darkness Awakened by Katie Reus Darkness Awakened Author: Katie Reus Reviewer: Jen Twimom Rating: B- What I’m Talking About: Darkness Awakened is the first book in Ms. Reus’s new Darkness series; however, it is loosely based in the same world as her Shifter Novella series (with Harlequin Nocturne). The world is full of shifters, vampires, and demons, all hidden from humankind. The story centers around Finn Stavros, alpha of the Stavros wolf pack and Lyra Marius, a noble-born vampire. Seventeen years ago, Finn and Lyra had a forbidden affair, which he broke off suddenly to protect her from the then alpha, his uncle. Although they’ve had no contact in seventeen years, Finn has never...
Read More
Nov
12

Book Tour & Review: Soul Resurrected by Keri Lake

Book Tour & Review: Soul Resurrected by Keri Lake Soul Resurrected  Author: Keri Lake Reviewer: VampBard Rating: A-, 4 stars What I’m Talking About: I have been waiting for Soul Resurrected since I read Soul Avenged nine months ago.  Keri Lake’s Sons of Wrath series is definitely on my auto-buy list, and for fans of PNR and UF, it should be on yours, too! What I love the most about Ms. Lake’s books is the way she builds relationships.  While the Sons of Wrath all seem to have a special connection, the reader is treated to watching the sibling relationship become even deeper as new understanding between the brothers is reached.  Even something as simple as making connections...
Read More
Nov
4

Review & Giveaway: Bound by Wish and Mistletoe by Kat Bastion

Review & Giveaway: Bound by Wish and Mistletoe by Kat Bastion Bound by Wish and Mistletoe Author: Kat Bastion Reviewer: VampBard Rating: A+, 5 Stars What I’m Talking About: Kat Bastion has done it again!  Bound by Wish and Mistletoe, a follow-up holiday novella to her fabulous first title in her Highland Legends series, Forged in Dreams and Magick, offers the reader more insight to the wonderful world created.  And more of Iain and Isabel! I don’t think I’ve read a heroine as sassy as Susanna MacEalan in a long time.  To say that she begins as a reluctant participant in the ‘couple’ is an understatement.  With physical agility as well as tenacity to be free, she definitely was no...
Read More
Sep
23

Review: Forged in Dreams and Magick by Kat Bastion

Review: Forged in Dreams and Magick by Kat Bastion Forged in Dreams and Magick Author: Kat Bastion  Reviewer: VampBard Rating: A+, 5 stars What I’m Talking About: It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that completely captivated my attention like Forged in Dreams and Magick.  As the first title of Ms. Kat Bastion’s self-published Highland Legends series, readers are certainly in for a pleasant surprise. I went back and looked at my Goodreads updates while I was reading this title.  I don’t think I’ve ever been so up and down and all around emotionally for a dudes-in-kilts title as I was while reading this one.  Which is a good thing.  Ms. Bastion’s writing is tight,...
Read More
Page 29 of 34« First...1020...2728293031...Last »
logo
Powered by WordPress | Designed by Elegant Themes