Review: Fair Game & Giveaway: On the Prowl

Posted March 7, 2012 by Gikany-Una in 5 stars, Giveaway, Rating A, Reviews, Urban Fantasy Tags: , , , ,

Keep reading for your chance to win a SIGNED COPY of the novella that started the Alpha and Omega series… ACE/Penguin Publishing is offering a chance to win On The Prowl.
Fair Game
Author: Patricia Briggs 
Release Date: March 6, 2012
Publisher: Ace
Alpha and Omega #3
ISBN: #978-0441020034
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Format(s): Hardcover (304 pgs), e-book
Book Source: Publisher

About the book:

     They say opposites attract. And in the case of werewolves Anna Latham and Charles Cornick, they mate. The son-and enforcer-of the leader of the North American werewolves, Charles is a dominant alpha. While Anna, an omega, has the rare ability to calm others of her kind.
     Now that the werewolves have revealed themselves to humans, they can’t afford any bad publicity. Infractions that could have been overlooked in the past must now be punished, and the strain of doing his father’s dirty work is taking a toll on Charles.
     Nevertheless, Charles and Anna are sent to Boston, when the FBI requests the pack’s help on a local serial killer case. They quickly realize that not only the last two victims were werewolves-all of them were. Someone is targeting their kind. And now Anna and Charles have put themselves right in the killer’s sights…

What G & U are talking about:

     Gikany and Una have been waiting with baited breath for the next book in the Alpha and Omega seriesFair Game was well worth the wait.  The events in this novel have ramifications that will have rippling effects in the world in which both the Alpha and Omega series and the Mercy Thompson series are set.  In other words, it will affect the next Mercy Thompson novel due out next year.
     Fair Game opens years after Hunting Ground ended.  Charles and Anna are trying to settle into married/mated life.  However, Charles’s job as the Marrok’s executioner has begun to take a toll on him and his relationship with Anna.  Being an Omega drives Anna to want to protect and nurture him; which prompts her to challenge the Alpha of Alphas, Bran, to do something.  There is no simple solution to Charles issues since he is the only one able to be the Marrok’s executioner even though the job may well destroy him.
     To give Charles a break, Bran sends Anna and Charles to Boston to look into a serial killer targeting paranormal creatures.  He feels it will be a good break for Charles since the detective work will be a dramatic change from his usual job as assassin. Throughout the drama of the search for the serial killer, we watch Charles slowly losing his control and, more importantly, his mating bond with Anna.
     Fair Game is the most gripping story in the Alpha and Omega series to date.  The mission to bring justice to these innocent victims forces the fae, werewolves and humans to cooperate. The long-standing politics that have separated these groups softens among the members of the group tasked with capturing the serial killer.  The operation to save the latest kidnapped victim brings them together and brings to light secrets that had been kept for too long.  As the story comes to an end, a new major story arc begins, one that affects this entire world.
     Gikany and Una really enjoyed the continuing challenge as Charles and Anna learn to be a married couple, a working mated pair, and a team.  As old and protective as Charles is, watching him allow Anna to learn and grow is heartwarming.  The care and concern Anna bears for Charles is just as touching, and can be quite humorous as she goes toe-to-toe with her Alpha, Bran.  Seeing the inner workings of this powerful pack is fascinating.  Especially as Bran wars with himself while trying to keep the pack (and humans) safe while not losing his son to madness.
     If you haven’t tried the Alpha and Omega series, you have GOT to pick it up.  We recommend you begin with the novella in On the Prowl  – where you first meet Anna. You’ll be completely enchanted with Anna and Charles when you read Fair Game.
Their Rating:
Personal favorite – a must read (A+)


NAL/Penguin Publishing is graciously giving away one (1) SIGNED copy of the story that kicked off this amazing series ON THE PROWL. To enter, all you need to do is leave a comment by Friday March 9, 2012, at 9:00 PM EST to be eligible for the contest. One entry per person, winner will be selected from eligible entries using Contest is open to US mailing addresses only. If your email address is not part of your profile, please leave it so I may contact the winner. I am not responsible for items lost in the mail. Thank you to Penguin Publishing for this fabulous giveaway!
Series/Purchase Info:

17 responses to “Review: Fair Game & Giveaway: On the Prowl

  1. What an awesome giveaway!! I’ve so many great things about this series!!! I can’t wait to read it!!! Added it to my TBR list!!! Thanks for the chance to win!!! 🙂


  2. WOW 5 stars!!! Cant wait to start reading this! I love..ok maybe I’m a little obsessed with the Alpha and Omega series as well as the Mercy series. Thanks for this awesome chance to win!

  3. This series is amazing and totally worthy of picking up! Thanks for the chance to win. 🙂

    julieguan AT gmail DOT com

  4. I LOVE this series. I’m about 100 pages from the end of Fair Game, and I think it might be the best one yet (though it’s really hard to decide…).

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  5. […] Personal favorite – a must read (A+)         Giveaway I am giving away one (1) copy of Frost Burned to one (1) lucky commenter. To enter, please leave a comment regarding the Mercy Thompson series (tell us your favorite book, favorite moment, what you want to see next, etc.) and your email address. You do not need to be a google friends connect follower of my blog, but it is always appreciated. Contest is open from March 6, 2013 until Tuesday March 12, 2013 at 11:59 PM EDT. Contest is restricted to US mailing addresses only. One (1) winner will be randomly selected from eligible entries. I am not responsible for items lost in the mail. Purchase Info: Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, Book 7) Reviews in the Series: Moon Called (Book 1) River Marked (Book 6) Fair Game (Alpha & Omega 3) […]