Review: Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine

Posted March 1, 2016 by Una in Paranormal YA, Rating A, Reviews, YA Literature Tags: , , , ,

Midnight BitesMidnight Bites: Stories of the Morganville Vampires
Rachel Caine
Rating: A

What I’m Talking About:

What a treat for Morganville Vampires series fans!  Midnight Bites: Stories of the Morganville Vampires is a wonderful collection of some previously released and brand new short stories in this rich and vibrant world.  I would wholeheartedly recommend this to all fans of the series but advise caution for newbies.  This collection would be considered spoilerish if you haven’t read the series.  You’d also be a bit lost on the significance and context of some of the stories included.

I’m a big fan of this series and was sad when I read the final book, Daylighters.  I have read anything and everything that I could get my hands on in this world, including those stories that Ms. Caine posted for free on the web, as well as getting anthologies from the library so I didn’t miss a novella.  Though this is not a comprehensive collection of all the short stories Ms. Caine has created, it is a wonderfully balanced anthology.

I was able to experience the backstory of some of the most colorful and critical characters in the series as well as enjoy a few new adventures.  Included are points of view from our favorite misunderstood vampire, Myrnin and his liege Amelie.  I enjoyed seeing Morganville, along with our heroes, through their eyes.  There is so much more to the vampires than what we previously experienced.  We are also given a glimpse of Myrnin’s past as well as a few stories that are more epilogues in nature.  One of the most compelling stories I found was from Michael and Eve’s point of view when Michael was struggling as a new vampire.  There is just so much to love in this collection including stories that centered on Shane as well as one from Hannah Moses.

Ms. Caine in her afterword gave me hope that she is not finished with this world.  In the meantime though, Morganville Vampires fans will certainly want and need to read this short story collection.  You won’t be disappointed, I certainly wasn’t!

My Rating:  A, Loved It


About the Book:

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Caine presents a collection of stories—including six new tales—featuring the little Texas town that’s overrun by the undead. 


By day, Morganville, Texas, is just a typical college town. By night, the vampires emerge and take control…. 

In a town where it’s not safe to be out after dark, student Claire Danvers and her friends have had their fair share of thrills. But Morganville still has a few secrets left to tell.

Now, in this collection, you can venture down the town’s strange streets, revisit all the tales you’ve come to love, and experience six new stories featuring your favorite Morganville residents—both human and vampire…

Release Date: March 1, 2016
Morganville Vampires
ISBN: #978-1101989784
Young Adult (Urban Fantasy)
Paperback (512 pages), e-book, audiobook
Book Source: Publisher/NetGalley

Purchase Info:
Midnight Bites: Stories of the Morganville Vampires

Reviews in the Series:
Ghost Town by Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampires #9)
Bite Club by Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampires #10)
Last Breath by Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampires #11)
Black Dawn by Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampires #12)
Bitter Blood by Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampires #13)
Fall of Night by Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampires #14)
Daylighters by Rachel Caine (Morganville Vampires #15)

2 responses to “Review: Midnight Bites by Rachel Caine

    • UnaReads

      I enjoyed this series. Though it is young adult, it grows a bit as the series progresses. It is similar to the feel that the Harry Potter series had, in that the maturity grows a bit through the course of the series.