Listen Up! #Audiobook Review: Don’t Give Me Butterflies by Tara Sheets

Posted August 26, 2019 by Jen in Contemporary Romance, Listen Up!, Paranormal Fiction, Rating B Tags: , , , , ,

Audiobook review: Don’t Give Me Butterflies

Author:  Tara Sheets
Narrator: Joell A. Jacob
Audio Speed: 1.5x
Series: Holloway Girls #3
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Magic
Source: Tantor Audio

Don’t Give Me Butterflies returns readers to Pine Cove Island in the Pacific Northwest where new resident Kat Davenport is trying to find a permanent job and settle into the place she’s decided to make home. Growing up in foster care without real roots, Kat enjoys the community she’s discovered and the bond she’s forming with the Holloway cousins. But it’s the instant connection with and attraction to Jordan Prescott that gives her the butterflies in her belly.

Of the three books, Don’t Give Me Butterflies is definitely my favorite. Although highly predictable, the story is sweet and fun, comforting and relaxing. I teared up and laughed out loud, enjoying the ride the entire way. I loved watching the natural progression of Kat and Jordan falling in love – their easy acceptance of one another. I liked that they hit it off and there wasn’t a conflict wedged in between. They have very different pasts/upbringings, but both ended up alone and lonely, which caused them to each construct walls around their hearts. But they connect so well that they quickly make room for the other, even though they don’t necessarily want to. 

In addition to the romance, Kat is on a quest, bolstered and directed by the Holloway women (books 1 and 2), to discover her parentage. Kat grew up never knowing anything about her parents or ancestry, but the Holloway House knew her the moment she stepped foot on the porch. Through scavenger hunts and digging around, the trio discover the truth. While it really isn’t a surprise what they discover, it was entertaining to see the women bond and the fun tricks the house plays on them to get them to discover the truth.

Narration: Ms. Jacob gives a solid performance in Don’t Give Me Butterflies. She maintains a constant narrative voice for both Kat and Jordan’s third person POVs. She alters the dialogue for each character that was tempered with the appropriate emotions as needed. She gives Kat a light but confident voice, conveying her sweetness and genuine care for those around her. Her voice for Jordan is appropriately deeper and definitely more masculine, but as with most female narrators, not quite perfect. With the supporting characters, the voices are modified enough to make each distinctive from the other.

Overall, the Holloway Girls series is an enjoyable listen. Each is a standalone, but the characters are introduced and developed over the course of the three books.

My Ratings:
Story: B+
Narration: B

Review copy provided by Tantor Audio


About the Book:

As the Queen of Impulsive Decisions, Kat Davenport has found herself without a job or a place to live. So settling on Pine Cove Island isn’t the sanest choice–meaning it’s perfect. Like the mysterious Holloway cousins, Kat has her own unique gift. In her case, it’s a knack for communicating with animals. Which makes getting hired at the local animal shelter feel like kismet. Especially when she finds a room to rent at a nearby lavender farm–complete with a sweet landlord and her brawny grandson–a guy who happens to give Kat an all-too-familiar flutter in her stomach…

Jordan Prescott isn’t back in Pine Cove to find romance. He’s here to sell the family farm, a fact that bewilders Kat. A former foster kid, she can’t understand why he’d give up his childhood home. So when the big-hearted beauty starts bringing home strays from the shelter, Jordan is suddenly her adversary. Until their fiery disagreements turn into fiery kisses…

Now Kat is falling for a man who will likely make her homeless yet again. Unless she learns how to lend her considerable powers to taming the beast lurking inside this prince…