Listen Up! Audiobook Review: Betwixt Volume 2 by Danielle Garrett

Posted January 11, 2021 by Jen in Listen Up!, Mystery-Cozy Fiction, Paranormal Fiction, Rating B Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Audiobook review: Betwixt Volume 2 by Danielle Garrett

Audiobook cover: Betwixt Volume 2 by Danielle Garrett

Betwixt Volume 2 is the second anthology from the Beechwood Harbor world. The stories, shared from different characters’ POVs, range in time from near the start of the original series to books released within the past year. Overall, I enjoyed the stories which add background and depth to the existing characters and world. My biggest complaint is that I would have liked some context for each story, letting listeners know when the story takes place within the larger world. 

“Cupid in a Bottle”

Shared by Anastasia Winters, it tells the story of how her sister, Harmony, comes to live with her in the Seattle Haven. It takes place before the start of the Touch of Magic Mysteries series. When one of her clients gets cold feet the day before her wedding, Ana has to figure out what happened and fix it quick. It’s a cute story and is followed by a preview of Newly Wed and Slightly Dead, first book in the series. 

“Tide Dance”

Told from Holly’s POV, the story features a teen who has lost something important and can’t get home until she finds it. The story doesn’t add much to the overall series, but gives listeners a little “day in the life” for Holly and her friends.

“Graveyard Gala”

Another tale told from Holly’s POV. It’s Halloween and Ghost Gwen invites Holly and the gang to an annual event for ghosts, but when something happens to all the ghosts in attendance, they call in Scarlet to help. Again, a fun slice-of-life short from Holly’s world.

“Dead Men Tell No Tales… but Dead Women Do” 

This is a more recent story, chronologically, told from Harmony’s POV. It’s been nine months since Holly’s store opened. Harmony goes on a delivery where she overhears a murder confession and gets her memories erased. The gang works together to help Harmony and solve the case. I liked seeing Harmony front and center as she becomes a bigger part of the gang.

“Hex the Halls”

It’s just after Thanksgiving and the Christmas season is upon Beechwood Harbor. As the gang helps prepare for the annual holiday festival and Santa’s arrival, rabid Christmas gnomes cause mischief. Holly and friends need to save the day to save Christmas. 

**NOTE: this is the first part of “A Very Beechwood Christmas,” which was absent from that novella. It would have been SO MUCH BETTER to get this story with that book. I’m very disappointed that 1) it wasn’t included with it and 2) that  “A Very Beechwood Christmas” is included in whole in this anthology. Why release both?

“A Very Beechwood Christmas” – didn’t listen to this as I just did a week ago. My review:

“A Match Made in Hades”

This tale takes listeners way back to when Lacey still lived at the Beechwood Manor and before her own HEA book, Once Upon a Hallow’s Eve. Lacey shares what her dating life was like while living at the Manor. While I enjoy the story, having it as the final story in the anthology seems wrong since it is chronologically the oldest.

Narration: As always, the Beechwood Harbor gang is brought to life through the performance of Amanda Ronconi, who has consistently done a wonderful job. Her voices are all well-suited, and she gives paranormals their own fitting voices. She brings her own delightful charm to the Beechwood gang, keeping in tone with the lightness of the stories. I notice that as the cast gets larger, some of the characters start sounding similar. Yet, it is all fitting for the world.

My Ratings
Story: B
Narration: B

About the Book:

One town. Two leading ladies.

More magic than you can shake a wand at.

Welcome to Beechwood Harbor.

Betwixt is a collection of the in-between stories featuring your favorite paranormal pals in Beechwood Harbor. Betwixt Volume Two contains seven short stories and novellas, including two brand new, never before publishes shorts featuring Lacey Vaughn and Harmony Winters!

If you love Beechwood Harbor, this is a can’t miss collection!

Author: Danielle Garrett
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Beechwood Harbor world
Genre: Paranormal Cozy Mystery, anthology
Audiobook Release Date: January 12, 2021
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Length: 8 hours; 57 mins
Source: Tantor Audio
Audio Speed: 1.25x

Purchase Info:
Audible/Amazon (affiliate link)

Reviews in the Series:
Beechwood Harbor Magic Mysteries
Beechwood Harbor Ghost Mysteries
Touch of Magic Mysteries
Once Upon a Hallow’s Eve