Review: Good Neighbors by Stephanie Burgis

Posted February 2, 2022 by Jen in Reviews Tags:

book cover of Good Neighbors by Stephanie BurgisGood Neighbors
Stephanie Burgis
Rating: B+

What I’m Talking About:

Good Neighbors is a collection of four shorts that together create an enjoyable story featuring Mia, a witch with an affinity for metal. Mia and her father were driven from their previous village when her abilities were discovered. For the past three months they’ve lived in a quaint home in the quiet countryside, or so Mia thought. Instead, Mia finds herself living next to a necromancer, who constantly sends his minions over her way.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading Good Neighbors. The story is silly and fun, yet filled with meaningful commentary on life. Mia has pretended to be normal so she and her father could fit in, but over the course of the book, she comes to terms with the fact that many others cannot hide who/what they are, and that their persecution at the hands of the Purifiers is horrendous and unjust. I love how Mia learns to find her inner, fierce voice and to be outwardly proud of who she is. 

Good Neighbors is also a delightful romance, with neighbors Leander and Mia striking up an alliance that turns into friendship, which eventually becomes love. Even though the story is shared solely from Mia’s point of view, it’s obvious that Leander is smitten with Mia from the start. I love all the ways in which he attempts to impress her. While not traditional nor steamy, their courtship and romance is utterly adorable. 

Good Neighbors is a delightful and silly romance with some quality life lessons. I love how Mia grows. How she gets over her fears and opens up to others. She blossoms and learns to love herself and others. The original four stories work together as one, and I’m glad the author published it like this.

My Rating: B+ Liked It A Lot

About the Book:

When a grumpy inventor meets her outrageous new neighbor in the big black castle down the road, more than one type of spark will fly!

Mia Brandt knows better than to ever again allow her true powers to be discovered. Ever since her last neighbors burned down her workshop in a night of terror and flame, she’s been determined to stay solitary, safe, and – to all outside appearances – perfectly respectable…

But Leander Fabian, whose sinister castle looms over her cozy new cottage, has far more dangerous ideas in mind. When he persuades Mia into a reluctant alliance, she finds herself swept into an exhilarating world of midnight balls, interfering countesses, illicit opera house expeditions, necromantic duels, and a whole unnatural community of fellow magic-workers and outcasts, all of whom are facing a terrifying threat.

Luckily, Mia has unnatural powers of her own – but even her unique skills may not be enough to protect her new found family and help her resist the wickedly provoking neighbor who’s seen through all of her shields from the beginning.

This novel-length collection includes all four stories and novellas originally published on Stephanie Burgis’s Patreon in 2020-2021: Good Neighbors, Deadly Courtesies, Fine Deceptions, and Fierce Company.

Release Date: February 2, 2022
Fantasy Romance, Rom-Com
paperback (254 pages), e-book
Book Source: Author

Purchase Info:
Amazon (affiliate link)

Read an excerpt here