Review: Resonance Surge by Nalini Singh

Posted July 20, 2023 by Jen in Paranormal Romance, Rating B, Reviews Tags: , , , ,

Book cover of Resonance Surge by Nalini SinghResonance Surge
 Nalini Singh
Rating: B+

What I’m Talking About:

StoneWater bear Yakov Stepyrev has been dreaming of a Psy since he was sixteen. But lately, those dreams have turned to nightmares with this woman violently dying and he is unable to help her. When he’s tasked to assist Theo Marshall with an investigation of a former rehabilitation Center, he knows she’s the woman in his dreams before he meets her.

Theo grew up under the abusive hand of her Councilor grandfather, torn from her twin Pax and used to perform horrible crimes. Now she comes face to face with a nightmare from her past, one she didn’t even realize was buried deep within her.

Resonance Surge is another wonderful story in the impressive Psy-Changeling series. Not only does it follow the romance of Yakov and Theo, but also follows Yakov’s twin, Pavel, and to a lesser extent, we find out what is happening with Pax and his Scarab Syndrome.

I enjoyed Theo and Yakov and thought they make a great pair. Although Yakov may have foreseen their connection, their bond is formed as the pair work side by side, trying to uncover the horrors of the forgotten Center. I love that each is accepting of the other, including all of their issues. They are at the right point in their lives to trust the other and open up and accept what the other offers. Their bond happens quickly, but it’s not insta-love. 

I also enjoyed the culmination of Arwen and Pavel’s romance which is threaded throughout the past couple books. The moment Arwen finally accepts the mating bond was so lovely, it brought tears to my eyes. I enjoyed seeing the bear twins and their Psy mates all connect and have fun together. 

Overall, I enjoyed Resonance Surge. I loved that the story doesn’t focus on the Scarab issues, but it is in the background a bit. It is a solid romance and standalone story, but it also provides more background on the Marshall family and the history of neurological manipulation, both of which I assume we will need to know for the coming confrontation with the Scarab Queen. 

My Rating: B+

About the Book:

StoneWater bears Pavel and Yakov Stepyrev have been a unit since birth, but now Pavel’s life is veering in a new direction, his heart held in the hands of Arwen Mercant, a Psy empath—and the only man who has ever brought Pavel to his knees.

This is it. A point of irrevocable change. For Pavel . . . for Arwen . . . for Yakov . . . and for another pair of twins whose bond has a far darker history.

A low-gradient Psy, Theodora Marshall is considered worthless by everyone but her violently powerful twin, Pax. She is the sole person he trusts in their venomous family to investigate a hidden and terrible part of their family history—an unregistered rehabilitation center established by their grandfather.

Places of unimaginable pain designed to psychically wipe minds, leaving the victims shells of their former selves, the Centers are an ugly vestige of the Psy race’s Silent past. But this Center was worse. Far, far worse. And now Theo must uncover the awful truth—in the company of a scowling bear named Yakov who isn’t about to take a Marshall at face value . . . especially a Marshall who has turned his dreams into chilling nightmares.

Because Yakov is the great-grandson of a foreseer . . . and he has seen Theo die in an unstoppable surge of blood. Night after night after night . . .

Release Date: July 18, 2023
Publisher: Berkley
Psy-Changeling Trinity #7; Psy-Changeling #22
Genre: Paranormal Romance
hardcover (432 pages), e-book, audiobook
Book Source: Publisher/NetGalley

Purchase Info:
Amazon (affiliate link)

Reviews in the Series:
Bonds of Justice by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #8)
“Whisper of Sin” by Nalini Singh (Burning Up) (Psy-Changeling #0.6)
Play of Passion by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #9)
Kiss of Snow by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #10)
Tangle of Need by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #11)
Wild Invitation by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #0.5, 3.5, 9.5, 10.5)
Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #12)
Shield of Winter by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #13)
Shards of Hope by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #14)
“Secrets at Midnight” by Nalini Singh (Night Shift) (Psy-Changeling #13.5)
Allegiance of Honor by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #15)
Wild Embrace by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling #15.5 – Anthology)
Silver Silence by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling Trinity #1, Psy-Changeling #16)
Ocean Light by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling Trinity #2, Psy-Changeling #17)
Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling Trinity #3, Psy-Changeling #18)
Alpha Night by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling Trinity #4; Psy-Changeling #19)
Last Guard by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling Trinity #5; Psy-Changeling #20)
Storm Echo by Nalini Singh (Psy-Changeling Trinity #6; Psy-Changeling #21)